Back to all news
Image of Kylie, Claire, Hailee and Emmersyn standing with the OTTAWA letters

Canada-Wide Science Fair 2024

Over 80 students competed in the FSD Science Fair in February, and four of our students then qualified for the Canada Wide Science Fair (CWSF) held this May in Ottawa.

 Kylie Dysart and Claire Linklater, Grade 10, from Thunderbird School represented FSD with their project Human Impacts on the South Indian Lake Ecosystem.  Kylie and Claire studied their home community ecosystem, which resulted in an eye-opening glimpse of the Churchill River Diversion impact on the South Indian Lake ecosystem.

Kylie and Claire won a Bronze Excellence Award in the Intermediate Category at CWSF! 

Hailee Marshall and Emmersyn da Mata, Grade 8, from Falcon Beach School also represented FSD with their project Weighting On The Menstrual Cycle. The girls compiled data that correlated body weight with girls’ first menses, created a web app which includes a girl’s weight tracker, their study and the results, a discussion of the menstrual cycle in pop culture, and even a quiz among other important information and vocabulary to help young girls with their first experiences.

 Hailee and Emmersyn won a Silver Excellence Award in the Junior Category at CWSF!

We are thrilled to celebrate our FSD students' accomplishments at the national level.  We'd also like to thank your teachers and our science coaches, Jacqueline and Arif, for inspiring our students to reach for the stars.

Explore Recent News & Announcements

Back to all news

Chief Superintendent Receives…

The prestigious Nelson Excellent Leadership Award, sponsored by Nelson Canada, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership…

Jul 11, 2024

Read Full Story

Duke of Marlborough Students…

Duke of Marlborough School in Churchill recently held a transformative week of programming as part of the Four+1 Truth and Reconciliation course. Throughout…

Jun 25, 2024

Read Full Story

2024 Outstanding Employee…

The Board of Trustees is pleased to announce that three (3) recipients have been selected to receive the Outstanding Employee Contribution Award. We invite…

Jun 14, 2024

Read Full Story